Teams and Permissions

Teams and Permissions

In Panoply, permissions are managed by placing users on teams. The default teams are Editors and Admins. The database owner is assigned to the Admins group, and all other users are initially assigned to the Editors group. The database owner cannot be deleted. If you need to change the database owner to another user, please contact Panoply Support.

Viewers can:

  • View tables they have been granted permission to view

Editors can:

  • Edit and drop views and tables, including ones they did not create
  • Add viewers (users with read-only access) to a table

Admins can:

  • Edit and drop views and tables, including ones they did not create
  • View the Payment and Teams pages
  • Add viewers (users with read-only access) to a table
  • Invite users

Here is a full breakdown of what each team can do.

Area Action Admins Editors Viewers
teams view page yes no no
teams use yes no no
jobs view page yes yes no
jobs cancel job yes yes no
tables create yes yes no
tables read yes yes yes*
tables write yes yes no
tables delete from table yes yes no
tables drop yes yes no
sources create yes yes no
sources view yes yes no
sources change yes yes no
sources delete yes yes no
tables screen create folder yes yes no
tables screen move to folder yes yes no
analyze create view yes yes no
analyze delete view yes yes no
analyze edit view yes yes no
analyze run a query yes yes yes*
db connection details view yes yes no
materialize   yes yes no

* Viewers can only view or query tables they have been granted permissions to view.

A user can belong to more than one team, and is granted the most permissive actions available to that set of teams. For example, a user who is on both the Editors team and the Admins team can view and use the Teams page.

Adding a User

Users on the Admins team can invite new users to the data warehouse.

To add a user to your data warehouse:

  1. Click Teams.
  2. Under the appropriate team, enter the user’s email address, and then click Add.
    This sends an invitation to join your data warehouse.

An invited user’s last login is listed as “Invitation sent” until the user accepts the invitation.

Revoking Permissions

Admins can remove users from teams, which revokes those users’ permissions.

To revoke permissions from a specific user:

  1. Click Teams.
  2. Click the trash can icon next to the user whose permissions you want to revoke.
  3. Click Delete to revoke this user’s permissions and remove the user from the data warehouse.

Admins can revoke permissions for a user regardless of whether the invited user has created an account.

Adding a Viewer to a Table

Prerequisite: Before you can add a Viewer to a table, an Admin must add the user to the Viewers team and the user must accept the invitation.

To provide a Viewer with read-only access to a table:

  1. Click Tables and locate a table you want to add a Viewer to.
  2. Click the menu icon and select Manage Viewers.
  3. Find the name of the Viewer who should have access to the table.
  4. Set the toggle to Can View and click Save Changes.